What's new

How to handle Soap Acquisition Disorder?

Ok, so I am still a newbie handling soaps. Tried Tabac which I love, Crabtree's Nomad which is ok, glycerin based soaps - not a big fan (sorry Mama & Col Conk). So I am planning on going through some soaps systematically (if possible). Should I stick with one brand and get all flavors, or just try one of each of the most popular from each brand? Which, I am still not convinced on Avocado, but hey, people seem to like, it will just have to go to the bottom of my list. I am not trying to go for broke, just yet, but 3-5 soaps will do.

How did you decided or get started sampling soaps?

Last edited:
Are you interested in scents or lather?

I think the lather tends to be similar within a line of products, while the scents will clearly vary. So if I were interested in scents I might get one of every sandalwood, for example. For lather I would probably try one item from each well-reputed maker.

Which ones? Well, the European Palmolive stick is a great value. You can get it from WCS and other vendors. The la toja stick is also great. MWF, Speick, Harris.... Come to think of it I like just about everything I've tried, including Williams.

ouch

Stjynnkii membörd dummpsjterd
Buy soaps from many different producers to see the variety of quality that's available.

Ouch, you would say that "buy from different producers" I am afraid to ask how many soaps you got in your bathroom. But I am trying to take small bite into this Soap Acquisition Disorder.

Unfortunately there is no such thing as small bites with these type of disorders....nibbles will satisfy the hunger of the soap gods...you must gorge on many soaps to appease them.

Seriously, many places offer samples that will allow you to try many products for little cost.

Seriously, many places offer samples that will allow you to try many products for little cost.