What's new

How to fix cracked scales at pivot pin?

Everyone,

I am looking for a little advice. I have a pair of scales that cracked at the pivot pin. I have seen people say they were able to stabilize them, but I am looking for a "how to" on that process.

Do you stabilize them in tact? i.e. with the blade still attached to the scales

Or do you un-pin the razor, stabilize some how, drill a pilot hole and re-pin?

I think I have seen crazy glue, or epoxy, suggested. Is there a preference of one over the other for stability and longevity? I really like these scales, as they are pretty old, and I'd like to keep them as long as I can.

As a woodworker, I use CA (superglue) to finish pens and other small turnings, and to stabilize blanks that aren`t sound enough to turn as is. It works well but but too much will make your scales look like plastic.

Cracks at pivot pins are tough because it is a high stress area.

I have had some success with CA glue to get things together, then roughing up the inside of the scales and applying a piece of silk cloth with fast drying epoxy, letting it all cure and sanding the silk flush with the scales. You need to put a sheet on both side as the angle is changed if you only apply it to the cracked side.

Cracks at pivot pins are tough because it is a high stress area.

I have had some success with CA glue to get things together, then roughing up the inside of the scales and applying a piece of silk cloth with fast drying epoxy, letting it all cure and sanding the silk flush with the scales. You need to put a sheet on both side as the angle is changed if you only apply it to the cracked side.

Hmmm... I am not sure I have the skills to pull this off. I can give it a try, and if it doesn't work, then I can just replace them - which is what I'd have to do anyhow. Nothing to lose.

Thanks Doc!!!