What's new

How much cream do you use...

How many ml of cream do you use per shave (see below for guide to what 1ml is)

• less than 0.5ml

Votes: 1 1.9%
  • 0.5ml to 1ml

Votes: 23 43.4%
  • 1ml to 1.5ml

Votes: 11 20.8%
  • 1.5ml to 2ml

Votes: 4 7.5%
  • over 2ml

Votes: 14 26.4%

• Total voters

AimlessWanderer

Remember to forget me!
... and how much does this vary between products?

I'm new to creams, by which I mean I tried one a few years ago but binned it, and have only used one cream twice since trying creams again. It seems that with the current cream (Erasmic), I need between 0.5ml and 1ml to give me lather for three passes with a damp (not dripping wet) boar brush.

To make that easier to picture, 1ml is a 1cm (3/8") cube.

With that in mind, how many ml of cream do you use per shave? Please feel free to say which creams you use.

Esox

I didnt know
Staff member
ML's I have no clue. I dip the tips and twist the brush if I need too.

I used this much Captain's Choice cream.

IMG_2191.jpg

That gave me this much lather.

IMG_2173.JPG

There was enough lather in my brush for 2 or 3, 3 pass shaves plus another shave left in the bowl.

Using half that much CRS gives me a comparable amount of lather in my synthetic brush. My synthetic has a 22mm knot. The Omega is a 24mm boar.

You'll likely find that the more time you spend building a lather, the more lather you get, especially with the better soaps and creams.

Keep your brush on the dry side. Its easier to add a few drops of water than go back to the tub for more product.

I don’t mind overloading my brushes a tad , I usually put a quarter sized amount of cream in a mug and lather , if it doesn’t create the volume or quality I look for I’ll add more.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I put in about .05 ml of cream and that gives me enough lather for a four pass shave on my face and two on my head. However, I face lather and put that amount on my face and head and lather it up.