What's new

How many shaves from a Merkur Double Edge?

I'm new to the world of safety razors, I just purchased a Futur & Merkur blades and would like to know how many shaves I can expect from each blade. I have a heavy beard, and formerly got 3-5 shaves out of my Gillette Mach 3's.

Also, do you keep track of how many shaves from each side of the razor? What about flipping the razor?

M

modern man

YMMV

I switch sides with every pass.

I get about 5 shaves per blade. If you feel tugging or slight irritation then its time for a change.

I usually get about 4 shaves out of each blade. I also switch sides of the DE, usually let each side shave half of my face.

I'm new to the world of safety razors, I just purchased a Futur & Merkur blades and would like to know how many shaves I can expect from each blade. I have a heavy beard, and formerly got 3-5 shaves out of my Gillette Mach 3's.

Also, do you keep track of how many shaves from each side of the razor? What about flipping the razor?

Hello, and welcome to the world of wet shaving. I use the merkurs and derbys. I cannot get a descent shave after one shave maybe 2. So instead of deal with lame shaving (not worth the abuse to my face--which I prize higher than a dumb blade of steel), I use the derbys and pitch them after a shave. Flipping them inside the razor is pointless--although people do this, because the razor edge is so fragile it is getting hammered after the first shave anyhow. I think I get less nicks with the merkurs, but not worth the cost in my opinion for how quickly you should dispose of them and replace the blade.
Hope this helps,
Jason

Two shave so far and all is well. I've got a 10-pack of 99-cent SuperMax (from India) i'm goning to give a whirl. Any experience with SuperMax, am I making a mistake? Are the Feather razors as sharp as I've read?