What's new

How long does your feather last?

I recently brought some feather blades to try them out in my tech, and they are amazing, gave a great shave I found them very very gentle but I started getting some tugging and discomfort on my 4th shave.
now I’m no professor but surely such a high quality blade should last longer ( keep in mind I judge this when I get discomfort and pulling when shaving upper lip area as it’s most sensetive for me) but how long do you feathers last?

They are great in a tech or 34c type razor. They are generally regarded as not lasting long though. Some folks bin em after two shaves, depending on beard type. I can get three but they are well past their best by then. I think they don't last because they have a fine thin edge. They certainly feel like it.

The second shave for me was the best but I’m really suprised about that most other blades get 5+ out of them I expected more for the money

Four or five shaves for me. It depends on the person, though. Some people get more shaves than that, some less.

Feathers are sharper than other blades, but the edge deteriorates faster as well. Blades such as Nacet are almost as sharp, but stay sharper longer; the degree of sharpness is more consistent until the blade is worn out.

See what astounds me is that my facial hair isn’t that course or thick. Just comes in patchy and thin

I have an average beard, as told to me by a barber friend who gave me a couple of straight shaves. I was nervous as a long tail cat in a room full of rocking chairs btw.
Anyways, on the handful of times I've tried them, i got about one and a half very rough shaves with one before I'd bin it.

Yeah they are a definite marmite blade. Some find em smooth, others find em rough.
I think they are OK but I wouldn't buy any more.