What's new

How long did your Merkur Progress (and other Merkurs) last?

Hi,

I've been thinking also about getting a Merkur progress. Never had an adjustable, I see people recommending them for daily shavers, and they look so deliciously German 50s I could eat one up. But - zamak. How long did you Merkur and other Merkurs you may own last before you had to replace them (considering normal use - not dropping them, not letting soap scum on for months and such).

Thanks.

I have a 70s Progress which gets regular use and is in great shape. I have an 80s Futur which has some pretty serious corrosion on the bottom plate which I swapped for a Q-Shave plate.

I unfortunately had my handle crack after about a year. Not sure if it was stress. Don’t think I ever dropped it. I loved the razor. I picked up a mergress a little while ago on BST and loving it. Feels like it will last a lifetime

I have been using my 34c daily since 2000.It replaced my Fatboy that I used since 1980.
Absolutely no problems.
I simply wipe it well with a towel everytime I change the blade (once per week).
It still looks brand new all shinny and nice.

I bought a Merkur 36 slant in the 70s. My son uses it regularly these days. No repairs or damage, some minor plating loss.

Zamac was used in firearms in the US. It is not by definition an inferior product, even though lesser qualities zamac exist. Apart from that, bakelite is a very durable material :)
Sure. All in the implementation. Apollo is decent, Rotbart pretty awful at least among stuff in my collection.

FarmerTan

"Self appointed king of Arkoland"
Hi,

I've been thinking also about getting a Merkur progress. Never had an adjustable, I see people recommending them for daily shavers, and they look so deliciously German 50s I could eat one up. But - zamak. How long did you Merkur and other Merkurs you may own last before you had to replace them (considering normal use - not dropping them, not letting soap scum on for months and such).

Thanks.