What's new

How does ink work?

I'm still new to this so my ink collection is slim. How does the ink/pen/paper reflect the flow of the ink? I've been taking notes all weekend on a standard 8x11 notebook with Parker Quink black ink because it's the only bottle that I have and I only have a Noodlers Flex. I will write about 4-6 bullets and the ink will go out and I have to adjust the ink flow, scribble on paper before it will write again.

I cleaned out my pen (I do it frequently) and put in a sample that I have of Perle Noire and wrote a page on a 5x7 journal with a heavier paper. No hiccups whatsoever. If it makes any difference the journal was acid free paper.

I bought 4 mystery pens.. Will the Parker ink behave differently if the ink is the problem?

Thanks! I love what this site :cursing: got me into this time! :001_tongu I'm placing an order for ink and really LOVED apache sunset. What's another or 5 good shading ink?

It has been said that your writing performance is affected by the trifecta of pen, ink and paper. Each works with the others to change the characteristics of the writing. As you experiment with different pens, papers and inks you will find that some work better than others and that some combinations work well and others do not. There are some inks that I find only work well in certain pens, while some ink works well in any pen I put it in.

I too have wondered about this and I have no clue except to say that Apache Sunset is also one of my favorites.

Not a direct answer, but I do note that you changed more than one variable. It might have been interesting to try the heavier paper with the Quink before changing the ink.