What's new

How do you travel, especially short trips?

I'm new to wet shave and DE (still waiting for my first DE razor to arrive). I've been working on brush lather technique and trying a few different cremes/soaps over the last few weeks, but still using a Fusion cartridge at the moment. I have a feeling I'm really going to enjoy DE so I have a preemptive questions...

How do you DE guys travel? I travel fairly frequently for business, 2 or 3 times a month, and usually for 1-3 days at a time. I've streamlined my packing so I only have to take a carry on for up to 3 days, and a fairly small one at that. Given TSA rules, if you're going on a short trip and not checking a bag, do you just suck it up and use a cartridge, or do you take a DE razor without blade and try to source a blade when you arrive? If the latter, do you just pick up a basic Personna from the local drugstore or Wal-Mart, or do you try to source something better based on the travel resource in the wiki?

Has anyone gone as far as mailing a blade or two to the hotel you'll be staying at ahead of time? Seems This would be cheapest (no waste when you return if you have to buy a 5 blade pack) and let you chose any blade you have on hand.

Regardless of what route I take for razor, I'll likely have a fairly basic travel kit consisting of a cheap synthetic brush (or whatever brush is my third best at the time, with the second going in the shower) along a VDH soap and some travel size AS balm... mainly want to keep things low-rent in case I leave something behind.

Lastly, if you're shaving right before catching a flight, how do you dry out your brush in a hurry, or do you just toss it in a zip-loc bag and wash/dry it again when you get home?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Find some Bic Metal disposable razors. I really only see them online (Walgreens) but it is the closest thing to a de.