What's new

How do you organize your straight razors

Being a beginner, I only have 2 straight razors with a third coming tomorrow. I imagine I'll acquire more and use them in rotation, but my question is, how do you organize them?

Right now I have an elliptical soap dish that seems perfect for holding 1 or 2 razors, but as I get more, are the racks or something to hold multiple razors?

Do I just keep them in a drawer? Medicine cabinet?

ERS4

My exploding razor knows secrets
Some pens or cigar storage things are great for straight razors.

It is also convenient to zigzag the cardboard into many parallel long strips.

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
Windrose case(s) on Etsy. Get more than one, you'll need them 😁.

IMG_20221007_114649.jpg

Here are a few ideas.

I keep my razors in a little desk top unit with my hones. The razors fit in one of the drawers. I got a few closed foam, toe separators from the pharmacy to hold them upright. I oil the razors with Ballistol and have added a SensorPush hygrometer to monitor the humidity levels. The toe separators work amazingly well. I like that there is nothing in contact with the steel that could wick away oil.

D043FC1C-1BFF-4523-9188-9415F01B97C8.jpeg
2DEA5EC9-A6C2-4586-9273-717B4ED38089.jpeg

I also keep a seven day set of Cadman Bengalls at my holiday house. I store these in a Thiers Issard razor box. Again the razors are oiled with Ballistol. I’m not convinced that oil is required with the humidity levels here but I feel better knowing that it’s there. It’s not much hassle to add a drop of oil after a shave and it’s not going to do any harm.

931F5893-FAEE-496E-97CD-753415A7986D.jpeg
85F84CB6-5177-4A5F-B1B7-2A52398A1246.jpeg

I just keep out my 2 T.I.s on the dresser. The GD stays in its sleeve for the occasion that I use it here and there, and the Aust stays in the box (sorry Ralf).

Easy peasy.

With that setup I should be good for at least a few hundred years.