What's new

How do you know when you need sharpening versus stropping?

Please allow me to say that I'm very new here. I came this way from other ports on the internet that referred to Badger&Blade as the premier resource for wet shaving in general and specifically straight razors.

So I'm trying to transition from the typical multi blade cartridge and picked up a razor and strop. Tried to watch plenty of videos on how to, but I'm still learning and feel like I'm not getting the hang of it.

In fact, I wonder if I've ruined my edge with bad stropping.

When I try doing a hanging hair test, most of the time it doesn't catch and slides right off. Sometimes I'll get a lil slide, catch, and pop. I've convinced myself that my stropping is at fault due to learning technique and how much tension, pressure, and what all to use. Not to mention I have taken a couple of bits out of the strop.

So I'm looking for ways to tell if once I figure out the stropping motion will that get the edge back in condition, or how to know if it's too far gone and needs to be sent for a good grind.

Your razor likely needs to be honed. Depending on where you bought it, it was likely not really shave ready at purchase and nicking your strop certainly did not do it any good. The HHT works best for people who already know what to expect from a sharp razor with their particular hair and technique. If you post your general location you may have someone close who could help you out or at a minimum assess your razor. Good luck.

Welcome on!

Did your razor come professionally honed when you first received it? If so, by whom?

Yes, an edge can be ruined my poor stropping, but you could probably see that if you sight down your edge. Shave readiness is semi preference. Even a “dull” razor to some can still be super sharp. Putting a cut on your strop is not necessarily a sign of a bad edge, just that you need to slow down and practice your stropping.