What's new

How do you feel about pipes with a filter system?

I'm new to pipe smoking (well I quit once and now have come back) and I just bought a Savinelli pipe that uses a wooden filter system. I think it's great. I was just wondering what is the general feeling around here about pipes with filters? Like them, hate them, or don't care?

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
I like em, but don’t use them lol. I’m a dummy I know.

They were really useful when I started and smoked really wet. The filter did wonders. Nowadays I tend to smoke drier for some reason and don’t use filters hardly.

brandaves

With a great avatar comes great misidentification
I have plenty but tend to buy the filter spacer and forgo using a filter. Its all personal preference.

AimlessWanderer

Remember to forget me!
I like the 6mm balsa filters. 9mm charcoal can be too restrictive on the draw. I do have 9mm balsa filters now, but haven't tried them yet.

Some of my cobs take them. I tend to use filters only in my driving pipes. I can't always pay as much attention to a lit pipe while driving, sometimes I'm busy giving other drivers helpful suggestions. That said, I am curious to try Brigham rock maple system.

Some of my cobs take them. I tend to use filters only in my driving pipes. I can't always pay as much attention to a lit pipe while driving, sometimes I'm busy giving other drivers helpful suggestions. That said, I am curious to try Brigham rock maple system.

I am currently one bowl into a Brigham pipe with the system.

Drawing on the pipe, I find know perceptible difference with an empty bowl between filter in place and no filter in place. There is an audible hiss that is louder "with" the filter, but that could just be the pipe's design.

More later.

Last edited:
My new Savinelli pipe uses a 9mm balsa wood filter which so far seems to be ok. I think it's good that it filters out some of the impurities and chemicals.