What's new

Hollow vs Wedge: Make or Break Difference?

I know, I know - Joel addressed this in his most recent straight shaving video - he doesn't believe that you need a stiff razor to get a good shave if you have a tough beard. However, he does say that he has a wicked sharp edge on that Kron Punkt. Let's bring this down a level to those of us who can't put the ridiculously sharp edge on a razor that he can.

I have this Dovo Special. I seem to remember that, when I first received it, it shaved well (but I was a total newb, and overall, the shaves weren't great). However, subsequent shaves went downhill fast. Tugging being the main problem. I recently got some hones (Spyderco Medium, Fine, and Ultra Fine) and tried to re-hone it, hoping I could get back to smooth shaves. I started with Medium, and worked up to the ultra fine. Probably overkill, but I wanted to be SURE that I was doing enough. It was an improvement, but still not as good as even the first shave.

At this point, I feel like pointing out that I am not surprised by this. I expected my honing to be inferior, and I expected my technique to be lacking as well.

However, there's this Wostenholm Whipped Dog on my shelf, too. That sucker mows through my beard effortlessly. I haven't re-honed it since I got it; only stropping. I've used it about as much as my Dovo, but it cuts way better. It also took a slice out of my cheek, but that was my fault. I digress...

Herein lies the question: Have I simply wrecked the edge on the Dovo, or is it possible that, with my limited edge maintenance skills, I'm better off with the wedge? Should I spend the $20 or so to have the Dovo expertly honed and give it another shot, or sell it and stop my losses?

From my experience, first and foremost, the razor edge must be sharp.
Secondly, there is an advantage to a full hollow ground razor. The curve, allows an air space between the lathered face and the blade. Sometimes, a wedge is prone to sticking to the face.