What's new

Holding An Edge (Stropless Shaving)

No I won’t be trying it. I’m new at this and I’m not ready to break away from the conventional wisdom yet. I would do many things for the perfect edge but this non stropping business is dangerous talk. If you told me to bath my straights in moonlight to charge the edge I would surely try it but this is a step too far for me. I’m still scared to shave with an edge that hasn’t seen 50 laps on diamond paste since the last shave.

moonlight and pixie wing dust is the correct voodoo hoodoo.......just to be clear.

camo

Tony Miller

Speaking of horse butts…
Try it yourself and see what you learn. Don't believe every thing that @Tony Miller says. After all, he is only trying to fatten up his retirement nest egg.

Already retired actually and puttering in my workshop mostly for fun now days :biggrin1:

BTW, way back when I used a replaceable blade razor I could go a month or more before switching to a new refill. The dull one worked just fine for me.

I think much of our tolerance to sharpness and the need to strop or stone is a blend of how tough or soft our whiskers are vs. how tough of soft our skin is. With a disposable I was always a hot water, no lather shaver with little to no skin irritation.

Over honed/stropped razors do irritate my skin more than dull ones do. For this reason I try to talk guys out of pasting the back or cloth side of their strops and over sharpening by using it for every shave and creating a harsh edge.

Tony

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
Shave No. 18 T.H.60 (Vesperum)

Seventeenth shave using this SR without stropping. Standard pre-shave prep and passes.