What's new

High End Brushes: What am I Missing?

I'm a hobbyist brush restorer, so my brushes are pretty much all vintage handles with knots from various vendors, mostly TGN finest and V. Sheng silvertips, along with a couple of Omega boars. I find these brushes to be very good performers, and of course the vintage handles are very cool (and cheap if you shop around). In all, I have no more than about 30 bucks invested in any of my brushes.

Though I've never owned or used one, I do admit to being intrigued by the Simpson, Kent, Shavemac and other high end badgers. I appreciate an excellent performing brush, but is the multiple in price over a good knot and vintage handle really justified? What am I missing?

I find there is a difference in face feel between many top end brushes and some of the more economically priced ones, although it's more than possible that some users might actually prefer the characteristics of the cheaper ones. Also, there are brushes at the lower price points that buck the general trend by having the firm backbone and soft tips typical of many high end knots, while some of the really expensive ones are so extreme in nature they might not be liked by many users.
Nor is it just about face feel and performance — some knots are very expensive because the badger hair in them is very rare, or at least the manufacturers claim so. It's all a bit of a minefield and there's no right or wrong answer. If you are happy with the knots you use, that's fine. If you want to splash out on a Simspon's Manchurian, Shavemac two-band silvertip or M&F finest, that's also good.

Doubt that you are missing anything! IMO the point is to find what makes you happy and stick with that.

I tried a fair number of brushes to find that I am a 'mid range' Simpsons guy (mostly). I still enjoy my old blond boar from time to time. Compared to other hobbies that I have tried, these brushes are bargain. YMMV for sure!