What's new

Hi everybody! DE newbie here

Hi all, I am nearly a convert to DE shaving but haven't had the experience yet (I have done tons of research on the subject though lol). My shaving up till now has been mostly electric (Norelco 9300) and further back the Gillette Mach3 Nitro. Hoping to develop a routine to coincide with my personal development and have become fascinated by DE razors. I've been looking around to see what to start with along with the needed accessories. If it's ok to just ask some questions:

1. I typically shave every other day and when I do shave, there's a considerable amount of dense stubble. What style of shaver should I go for (Closed/Open, Aggressive)? Currently I'm torn between the Edwin Jagger DE89Lbl, Parker 96R, Vikingblades Godfather, and anything else that might be more effective at shaving. Not to mention the blades (Persona/Astra?)

2. Of the two I mentioned, I really like the handle for the Parker 96R but I've read many times that it's liable to have the blade uncentered or come loose due to the loosening of the twist nob. Is it a common issue for TTOs?

3. Lastly, how well does a DE razor handle acne? Does it just slice on through?

Thanks again and hope to be shaving like yall soon :D

Welcome to B&B. I would suggest the EJ de89 with the Astra sp blade for beginners. For me the best time to shave is after I shower when my beard is still hydrated. Use a shaving soap or cream for best results. You can also use Creemo if you don't have a brush yet, it is a very good brushless cream. Feel free to ask any questions you might have.

Welcome to B&B. I would suggest the EJ de89 with the Astra sp blade for beginners. For me the best time to shave is after I shower when my beard is still hydrated. Use a shaving soap or cream for best results. You can also use Creemo if you don't have a brush yet, it is a very good brushless cream. Feel free to ask any questions you might have.