What's new

Henson AL13 mild give me cuts! - what in earth am I doing wrong? :)

Hi,
I am a newbie when it comes to shaving with a safety razors, I was always using cartridge 3 blade razors, even after those blades were dull, but I had no issues like with the Henson AL13.
I was looking for a safety razor that will not break after 10 years, and one that will not give me cuts even if I try :)
After reading lots and lots of reviews, I've decided to go with Henson AL13 mild, since there were a lot of users that have said that they used it with only water when shaving the mustache, and it still gave them no cuts, I tried 2 times with water + soap, and I have few cuts every time.

Can you guys tell me what the hell am I doing wrong with that razor? :)

P.S. I am shaving only my mustache, and I am using razor blades that were in the package with the safety razor (RK)

BR

First guess is way too much pressure. That is what I did. I thought I was using very little, but I had to go three steps lighter. Sometimes the light aluminum razor makes you think you have to push it down. You don't. By some Canadian magic it cuts even better with no pressure.

There are other improvements to be made as well, like use a thin coat of very slick lather. The Henson can float on a thick coat, which then makes you want to add pressure again. Then make sure you re-lather after each pass, don't keep scraping.

You've got this!

I am a newbie when it comes to shaving with a safety razors, I was always using cartridge 3 blade razors, even after those blades were dull
Welcome! I used Sensor Excel cartridges for most of 30 years, and the AL13 mild was my first safety razor as well.

I was looking for a safety razor that will not break after 10 years
A Henson should last a lifetime! 😀

and one that will not give me cuts even if I try :)