What's new

Help, Schick Razor issues.

Hi all.
I want to be upfront with this. I'm far from a Newbie when it comes to the Schick Injectors. My collection consists of 26 razors. From the Original A model to the N model. At the beginning of last month I think it was, I thought I'd work my way through them all. Using up a blade completely in them all so I could say without a dought which Schick was my favorite.

I'm now trying out the G-4 or Third Variant Third Style depending on who is identifying the razors. Also, known as the "Schick 66". It's the Dark blue handled, Chrome Hammered head.

My shave was not good. I know I was shaving properly. Had great lather and a good blade. After cleaning it up I took a very close look and see the blade is not being held down well. It was showing a gap between the blade the top section that pinches the blade and the blade. I then got out a small set of Feeler Gauges and tested a good shaving G model without a blade, the First Variant Ivory handled. I removed the blade and the gap was measuring about .009" gap. Then measured a new blade with a micrometer and found it to be 0.105". Then measured the 66 and found the gap to be around 0.275". A lot more than the other razor and more than the thickness of a blade by 2X plus.

This would definitely be giving me a bad shave as the blade was not secured well.

My question now is does anyone else find such a thing with the 66 models they might have? The head does not look bent on mine. Does anyone know of a fix for this as it's not soft brass and I don't think it's going to bend very well.

What say you?

Here is a pic from both sides of the 66 close-ups showing the gap...

IMG_20230323_095056424.jpg
IMG_20230323_095119660.jpg

You hit it right on the nail, Dave.