What's new

Help me pick outmy first tin in over 8 yrs

After sifting through my garage I found the pipes that I used to use in college along with what is probably some drug store vanilla tobacco. I was wanting to get something decent to smoke this time around though. Both pipes I have have smoked nothing but aromatics, so I don't know if I need to clean them out to remove any ghosting, or if it would be worth the trouble.

I'm probably looking to get another aromatic, but not anything too over powering. I want the main flavor to be tobacco. I was thinking about Peterson's University Flake or Mac Barens Vanilla flake. If anybody has any experience with either of these, I would appreciate your input, and I also welcome any recommendations anyone might have for me to try.

Thanks

As a recent noob, I wouldn't start out with a flake. They can be tricky to pack... I'm still having some difficulties myself :001_smile

If you want an aromatic, Cornell and Diehl's Autumn Evening seems to be well respected here.

Peterson University Flake is an excellent tobacco. Just rub it out and pack your pipe if you are not familiar with folding flakes.

As a recent noob, I wouldn't start out with a flake. They can be tricky to pack... I'm still having some difficulties myself :001_smile

If you want an aromatic, Cornell and Diehl's Autumn Evening seems to be well respected here.

Hey I noticed you are a Houstonian and I was wondering where you go to get tobacco. I was going to try to stop by the Briar Shoppe but heard they may be pricey.

Brian, tins are a lil pricey, while bulk is a lil cheaper, local or internet stores.

Check out tobaccoreviews.com for different opinions on pipe tobaccos.

You may want to check out a few pipe tobacco websites and pick up a sampler, as your tastes may have changed.

pipesandcigars.com, 4noggins.com, marscigars.com,smokingpipes.com

Good luck and have some fun. :thumbup1:

Last edited: