What's new

Help for the rookie

I’ve always used Gillete Fusion with Nivea gel but want to get into using a straight double edge blade shaving - I’m not happy with the lack of clean shave feel & cartridges are a small mortgage payment over time.

Since I’m a rookie I don’t want to break the bank. I bought a brush now for the razor handle: would you recommend one that is adjustable or non-adjustable?

Also, because I wear dress shirts for work my neck seems to get irritated due to collar so was going to try Barbosol orange for sensitive skin.

I found using baby powder on my neck helped a lot to cut the irritation from the shirts. Is this still good or do you recommend an alternative now that I’m going this route? I tried the Gillette gel aftershave gel and this just seems to make the irritation worse.

Sorry in advance if my inquiries above seem stupid - never had anyone explain this route of shaving before.

I like adjustables especially if you are just starting out and don't know yet how mild or aggressive a razor should be for you. A vintage Gillette Slim or Super Adjustable would be a great start. These can be found pretty cheap on eBay or right here in the BST forum. If baby powder is working for you and the scent is okay then keep it up. I use Pinaud Clubman powder which smells a bit like the aftershave. For the soap, I would suggest a tub of Proraso.

Welcome to the funny farm of life.
a straight (open blade) is not a de safety.

now first start with a decent soap for that brush start to lather up and shave. You might be surprised what your razor can do with some decent soap.
budget try proraso, Arko
A little bit more try stirling.

after that and you still want a de...though I love my qshave adjustable and it is dirt cheap.... it can also be a unwielding bloodthirsty .... you get the point so someone will have a better solution. Oneblade is not it because of blade/shave price.

in the end have fun it is a trip but you will learn and enjoy