What's new

Help Deciding Between ATT S1 or S2

I just fell through the Tilted Picnic rabbit hole. I really enjoy reading it and @Old Hippie 's enthusiasm for slants has rubbed off on me.

I'm new to slants. I have a FOCS, but haven't used it much. When I did use it I didn't feel I got a super close shave, but that could be the result of not spending enough time with it.

I'm a daily shaver and I'm trying to decide between the ATT S1 and S2. I've seen the S1 described as smoother than the S2. Do both get you to the same place? Any thoughts?

I had the S1 for a while and it was a really smooth shaver. Never tried the S2. The S1 is a good razor, but I found the Windsor SSRH to shave almost as smooth yet with more efficiency.

I never had much luck with the FOCS.

Old Hippie

Somewhere between 61 and dead
I just fell through the Tilted Picnic rabbit hole. I really enjoy reading it and @Old Hippie 's enthusiasm for slants has rubbed off on me.

I don't know what it is, man. They just grab me, you know? It's a fun obsession, though and definitely less injurious to the wallet than being obsessed with antique military aircraft.

I'm new to slants. I have a FOCS, but haven't used it much. When I did use it I didn't feel I got a super close shave, but that could be the result of not spending enough time with it.

No one razor is perfect for everyone. For me, the FOCS is a good shave. Mild, I'll say that, or at least it seems so to me. I've played with it a bit and find that as it sits I can get a close shave from it, but I have to slow down a little and make sure I'm doing things exactly right. I don't mean that in a stressful way, just that the FOCS rewards me when I pay the most attention.