What's new

Hello to the DE community! Noob here!

@TexOkie Shaver Thank you for your response.

I'll give an update when I use the BIC Astor blades.

As far as the pimples go, I do fear that they are caused by ingrown hair. I have been using the Noxzema cool carbon after shave balm. I switched to, but haven't yet used, the Proraso Eucalyptus and mint after shave. I guess i'll have to wait and see how that goes. I used to have Nivea but I have oily skin and I needed something that leaves a matte result so I never bought it again. I may try it again though.

PS I will try to avoid going ATG on the problem areas. I guess ATG is not for me....

PS I will try to avoid going ATG on the problem areas. I guess ATG is not for me....

Maybe not now, but it could happen in the future. You are still perfecting your technique and have yet to find the blade you like. I would bet that in six months you will be able to shave those spots ATG without the pimples.

@ackvil For now i am only going wtg. My pimples have increased and even a xtg pass causes irritation. I will slowly progress to more close shaves, doubling on the xtg.

@TexOkie Shaver I hope so, thank you for the advice! Surely it's a very early stage now. I'll get a blade sample pack and work from there...

Your set up is great. Truth be told, that set up could keep you happily and smoothly shaved for the rest of your life. (mind you, you will probably fall in the rabbit hole like most of us on this site, and eventually acquire an AD or two) You just need to keep at it. Your technique is what is lacking. It will get better, which applies to both shaving and lathering (just as important -- if not more so -- than the razor and blade selection). As time goes by you will get better.