What's new

Hello from Michigan

Hello everyone I am new to this whole DE shaving thing. I have always been interested in it but thought it was a dying art that was trumped by technology and my only options in this 21st century was either one of those awful disposable razors or one of those electric ones. Since I am new here I have watched a bunch of videos on youtube "Mantic59". Alot have just raised more questions that have confused me much more like what would be a nice starter DE for me. I like WCS because if I order 80 then shipping is free. So I thought what better way to learn something new is to ask the happy people of badger and blade. This is what I was thinking for the other supplies. Again just looking for some nice feedback on a good starter DE razor. I do not have a coarse facial hair just looking for something to have a nice transition into the world of DE shaving :crying:

Taylor of Old Bond Street Shaving Cream Bowl, Grapefruit
Vulfix 1000A Pure Badger Shaving Brush, Faux Ivory
DE Blade Sampler Pack

Welcome to B&B; enjoy the forum and your shaves. I'd recommend an Edwin Jagger DE89 or a Merkur 34c to begin your journey. All sorts of info on internet and this forum about each razor. They have the reputation as being razors for newbies, but I could shave with either for the rest of my life and be quite content. When you get your gear, focus on beard prep; don't be in a hurry to start slashing whiskers. Learn how to lather, and then work that lather into your face for a good 2-3 minutes. Stirring the lather in the bowl doesn't do a thing for your beard...you need to get that product into your beard to prepare it for cutting. Remember that a light touch is the key to wet shaving. Just barely skim the lather from your face with no pressure at all. Good luck.

Rob welcome to B&B! I was in the same boat as you when I got started and I can tell you that I would HIGHLY recommend the Merkur 34C.