What's new

Hello and request for help!

Hello everyone. Im new to the straight razor game and have found this website extremely helpful.

I am having some issues with honing. I seem to get tree topping sharpness directly after a 16k finish and then raw strop but the edge never seems to stay sharp. Is it normal to have to strop in the middle of a shave and especially after tree topping?

Thanks in advance!

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
What straight razor are you using and a picture of it would help us advise you.

To address your question, it is not normal to have to strop in the middle of a shave, although some may do so. A reasonable blade should last a whole shave of many passes without the need to be stropped during the shave.

Hello everyone. Im new to the straight razor game and have found this website extremely helpful.

I am having some issues with honing. I seem to get tree topping sharpness directly after a 16k finish and then raw strop but the edge never seems to stay sharp. Is it normal to have to strop in the middle of a shave and especially after tree topping?

Thanks in advance!
You say the razor tree tops after a 16k. Is that before or after the razor is stropped?

There is not usually any reason to have to strop mid shave. All of my razors can do multiple passes without having to be stropped.

As @rbscebu asked, what razor are you using? A few people have found that certain "razors" (more commonly referred to as razor shaped objects) cannot be honed, or if they can, cannot hold an edge.

You say the razor tree tops after a 16k. Is that before or after the razor is stropped?

There is not usually any reason to have to strop mid shave. All of my razors can do multiple passes without having to be stropped.

As @rbscebu asked, what razor are you using? A few people have found that certain "razors" (more commonly referred to as razor shaped objects) cannot be honed, or if they can, cannot hold an edge.