What's new

HEEL CORRECTION - REPROFILING

Yea, a diamond plate or file make it quick and easy, an India or Carborundum stone also works, as does a sheet of 220.

If you want to use a low grit stone, just use the side of the stone to preserve the stone face.

Nice work Tomo. Note where the spine wear ends on Tomo’s razor, well away from the stabilizer. Cake!

I did heel correction to one of my razors last night. This was the 3rd one I've done and by now it's so simple I could do it in my sleep. I didn't bother with a template, I just put a little sharpie mark where I wanted to new heel to end and eyeballed it from there. I don't think it took more than 5 minutes using some adhesive back 180 or maybe 220 grit sandpaper stuck to a piece of granite, followed up with some 600 w/d to take off any sharp edges.

Right away it sat better on the stones and I was honing right to the new heel. Thanks again @H Brad Boonshaft for putting this tutorial together.

I've never done this before (on a razor), but am going to later as I have a new one that definitely needs it, but I have a related q. too...

This is the razor I'm going to correct:

IMG-2709.jpg

You can't really tell in that pic, but there's a few mms at the heel where the bevel's not set, and perhaps a further cm where it is set but the stabilizer is clearly still impeding subsequent light-pressure honing and the edge isn't very good.

What you can see is that I've honed on the stabilizer a bit, and I did that intentionally. I have other razors with less prominent stabilizers than this where all I've done is hone it down when setting the bevel so that it no longer lifts the edge off the stone.

Is there anything particularly wrong with doing that?

---