What's new

Heckle and his Magnificent Moustache!

1. What is your real name?
Tom Brown

2. What is the meaning of your username?
Ah! Back when I was in the US Army, probably around 1986, I transferred from Germany to Ft Campbell, KY. I was a helicopter mechanic and it was a fairly small mechanic community since I was a Powertrain Mechanic. We had three people in my shop. Me and another guy got to be very good friends rather quickly. We were pretty inseparable and our Squad Leader started to refer to us as "Heckle and Jeckle, the two effin magpies". So, we ran with it. I started using Heckle as a user alias on BBS's, IRC, and for everything on the limited internet (as it was back then) and I still use it today!

3. Roughly where on this this big blue ball do you live?
I live in New England in the north eastern part of Connecticut.

4. How old are you?
Why must we all be categorized with numbers. :) I am 52.

5. What do you do in real life?
I am an IT Professional and the resident Cisco/Juniper guy.

6. When did you first start to grow facial hair, and when did it actually start to look decent?
I have been growing facial hair since I was a teen. There was a brief time when I was clean shaven (Basic training). I think it started looking decent (as decent as a military mustache can look) around 1985.

7. What type of facial hair do you wear, and how often do you change it up?
I have sported a mustache in some form for most of my adult life. I had a goatee for a couple of years (1999 - 2001) and have had a Handlebar since early 2014. I don't change things up very much. Some days I use wax, some days not. Sometimes I wax it into a classic handlebar curl, some days I just let it swoop!

8. What types of products do you use, and did you use any before you started hanging around here?
I use mustache wax and have been shaving with a DE and cream for a few years now. Probably about a year before I found this place.

9. Scissors, trimmer, or both?