What's new

Hawk V3 choices

Looking at the Italian Barber site, I see the stainless steel Hawk V3. It has standard, then Open Comb, which is more aggressive, and finally Hawk A, which is the most aggressive.

I really like my aluminum Blackhawk. I use Feather Professional. I like the idea of an open comb, just because I like open combs.

But if I already find my alum Blackhawk to be plenty sharp and efficient, I wonder how an Open Comb would compare?

Thoughts appreciated.

I have the V2 aluminum Hawk (blue) with the standard plate and the V3 SS Hawk with the standard and OC plates. The SS Hawk with the standard plate is more aggressive than the aluminium and the OC is much more aggressive. The A plate is apparently even more aggressive but I have no experience with it.

I find the OC Hawk v3 OC plate to be in the same aggressiveness realm as a Karve E-F plate and the Aluminum Hawk in the Karve C range, Rockwell Plate 4 range or Game Changer 0.68 plate if that gives you any reference at all… BIG difference between the SS Hawk v3 with the OC plate and the V2 aluminum.

I like my razors that use AC blades to be mild because those blades can bite hard (I have a scar to prove it). Personally, I’d go for the mildest version! An OC with a Feather Pro would scare me.

I like my razors that use AC blades to be mild because those blades can bite hard (I have a scar to prove it). Personally, I’d go for the mildest version! An OC with a Feather Pro would scare me.
It is an acquired taste for sure. I have to use almost zero pressure. Less than any other razor I have used. The Hawk OC can bit hard. I like aggressive razors but have no interest in their more aggressive A plate. 😱