What's new

Hanging strop in bathroom?

Is it ok to hang your strop in the bathroom? I shave in the bathroom but am wondering what affect the moisture from taking showers will have on a strop if hanging in there.

Mine hangs in the bathroom. It has for nearly a year and I haven't noticed any issues.

Sent from my DROID Turbo using Tapatalk

I mean no disrespect, but is this really true?
Moisture is not the best for it. The continued humidity and then drying will shorten its life.

Leather has been used for many things for thousands of years, not always in the most dry conditions. It seems to me that, with proper general care and periodic conditioning, (neatsfoot oil, oil from your hands, leftover lather, etc.) hanging in a modern bathroom would be fine.

I live in dry Colorado so YMMV, but I've been keeping the daily strop in the bathroom for over 5 years. The present one has been in daily use for almost three years. I actually think that in my dry climate the moisture of the bathroom is good for the leather.

Last edited:
Depends on the leather. In a general sense, nothing will 'happen' to the leather, but it may cup or roll or twist or whathaveyou. Yes - it can happen, the question is - will it happen? Dunno.. depends on the hide.
My boots are leather and they just spent 4 days in snow... they're fine. I don't neccessarily want to strop on them but you get my point.... leather is durable.
But a strop should be flat and humidity can affect that sometimes.
Latigo and bridle are so stuffed with waxes and oils that they probably won't notice humidity, even in a steam room. But drier hides might. I've seen cheap cowhide cuts swell up at the edges which could be severely problematic IMO.
In some scenarios, the regular dose of humidity is helpful actually, helping to prevent cupping or splitting issues. Once in a while I see a piece of leather that won't sit still in humidity.