What's new

Had my first shave with my new straight razor today.

I had some extra money so I decided to take the plunge and buy a straight razor. After looking around the web and here, I decided on a Dovo 5/8 Silver Steel with ebony scales. I included pictures of it. While it doesn't look as nice as some of the amazing custom ones I've seen on B&B, I think it looks pretty nice. I bought it from Straight Razor Designs where it was professionally honed by Lynn Abrams who I read online about in several places as being one of the foremost people in the straight razor hobby. I also watched his videos and several others on stropping and shaving with a straight.

On to the shave. Every time I buy a new razor I also buy a new soap and brush. I settled on a Semogue 1800 boar and some Trumpers Lime soap. Since I'm new at straight shaving, I only did my cheeks and neck since I'm a little nervous about using it on my chin (I have a dimpled chin that makes shaving there more difficult. ) and lip areas. While I can't say it was the best shave of my life, and far from irritation free, I feel good enough about it to keep doing it. In a way, liking it may be a bad thing since I now will have another shaving temptation to spend my money on, and all the fault goes to this website. :001_cool:

Attachments

• $image.jpg
    $image.jpg
    55.7 KB · Views: 124
  • $image.jpg
    $image.jpg
    48.1 KB · Views: 122
  • $image.jpg
    $image.jpg
    49.5 KB · Views: 122
Last edited:
Congrats, Fishdog! I am not too far ahead of you, SR shave wise. The Dovo 5/8 SS was my first razor as well! (I now have 3 other vintage razors to go along with it... careful - it is a sickness, and I believe it is contagious through this website...)

Keep at it - it sounds like you had a successful number 1 shave!

Congrats on the first straight shave and getting yourself outfitted with a nice honed razor, a very nice brush and soap. You are on your way!