What's new

Great Performaing Budget Shave Creams

I've used many shave creams ranging from D.R. Harris and Truefitt and Hill for my high end to economically priced Super-Max, Arko Cream, Bulgarian Figaro and Barbon. In the middle of my shave creams there are what I call "Yeoman Creams" the good, effective - but not great creams such as Proraso, or Palmolive.

But I"m interested in some real Gems that have popped up at in the Budget. Shaving creams that may or may not have terrific scents, but leap to the top with their sheer great performance. The criteria for me of an exceptional performing budget cream is that it's very inexpensive (all purchased around $5 or less) and makes me think at least once as I shave, or after, "why am I using anything else other than this"?

My great budget performers are:

Godrej - (any scent) - I've been reaching for Godrej with it's added lanolin for a few years, at first oddly enough when winter weather is at it's worst. Year round it provides great slickness, cushion and leaves my face feeling great afterwoods, but when the temperature is dipping below zero and the wind is blowing the snow sideways, I know that after shaving with Godrej, my face is going to be more moisturized as well as almost anything else I shave with (I'm thinking Soap Commander, Mystic Waters and Soap Commander). I'm amazed that a shave cream manufactured in a hot climate, India, protects my face so well during winter's worst.

Dettol - (either of both scents available) - Possibly slightly more slick than Godrej, without the post shave benefits of the lanolin. Another really terrific shave cream from India.