What's new

Gold Fatip Open Comb Slant - First Shave

I have heard lots of wonderful things about the Fatip Open Comb Slant (FOCS), and I have to admit that I was somewhat skeptical. This is my fourth Fatip, not counting a Schone, so I have some experience with Fatip razors. But at $38 shipped from Connaught, the gold FOCS was just too tempting to ignore. It arrived yesterday, and I must say that this is a very pretty razor. Even my wife, who is perplexed by my growing collection of shaving accoutrements, remarked that it was "a very fancy looking razor." Here are a couple of pics:

IMG_20210107_091551.jpgIMG_20210107_091604.jpg

The fit and finish is clearly the best of any Fatip I have seen. I'm not sure if this is due to better QC at Fatip or just good luck. The knob at the bottom of the handle still has a few rougher spots (it pulled the washcloth it's sitting on when I picked it up after the photo), but the overall quality is quite impressive. I put a new Personna Israeli red blade in and it locked into place perfectly. With my other Fatip razors, there is some play around the pins so you need to check the alignment and possibly adjust it by hand. I've never found that to be a big deal, but it is certainly preferable to have the blade fit snugly in a perfectly aligned position.