What's new

Glycerin

I keep reading that some people add a few drops of glycerin to their lather. I assume it is to increase the slickness and make things that much creamier and to allow the razor to glide more? I'm not sure as I am still a novice to wetshaving. I am just wondering which specific Glycerin product(s) you use for this purpose

Vegetable glycerin, you can find it at drugstores or online. Usually made from vegetable oil.

glyc.jpg

According to the NIH, liquid glycerin as a humectant hydrates the outer layer of the skin, improves skin barrier function, provides protection against skin irritants, and accelerates the wound healing process. In brief, it pulls water into the outer layer of your skin from deeper levels of your skin and the air.

At one time I used Uberlather almost exclusively (soap + cream + glycerin) and found that it did wonders for my skin. At that time I bowl lathered and would take the remaining lather and rub it on my face and neck.

That is actually quite genius. Simple and easily doable, yet totally genius.
People have been using glycerin soap like that for decades. Some people use glycerin soap just as a face wash and then follow up with a dedicated pre-shave product, just to go the extra mile.
:001_cool:

You can get a 365 brand glycerin soap at Whole Foods Market for under $2 (they have different varieties like Lavender, Aloe, etc.). There is also a Neutrogena face bar.

People have been using glycerin soap like that for decades. Some people use glycerin soap just as a face wash and then follow up with a dedicated pre-shave product, just to go the extra mile.
:001_cool:

You can get a 365 brand glycerin soap at Whole Foods Market for under $2 (they have different varieties like Lavender, Aloe, etc.). There is also a Neutrogena face bar.