What's new

Glad to find this forum

New member. I am glad to find this forum as I am new to wet shaving, you have so much good information here. I accidentally stumbled into wet shaving. I am a thick coarse bearded guy and I was tired of paying an arm and leg for cartridges. I have never been able to use electirc razors do to the sensitive skin on my neck. I hated shaving and fought razor burn my whole life. Now I am 3 months into wet shaving after buying a $12 Vander Hagan at Walmart and I have been converted. My outlook on shaving has flipped 180. Via YouTube I learned prep and the do’s and don’ts. I quickly went to the R1, VB Crusader and then the Emperor. I use Astra Green and Feather blades, TOBS and Proraso soap and lean heavy on anything Sandalwood. I do not have any more issues with razor burn and don’t fight with nicks with my current equipment. Any advice for a newbie? I am now hooked and looking to grow my arsenal. Looking forward to your input.

Thanks E

Welcome!

I also left razor burn in the past when I switched from cartridge multiblade razors to DE over 9 years ago now.

As for advice, the best advice is to watch out for the rabbit hole.

However, I'd say a great place to look as you grow your arsenal is Razorock/Italian Barber not just for razors but for brushes, soaps, etc. Or if you want to jump up to a higher-class higher-priced razor arsenal Timeless, Blackland, Lambda, and Tatara are excellent choices IMHO.