What's new

Gillette President, curious about these closed auctions

$510 Gillette President

vs.

$240 Gillette President

Any ideas on the price range difference? Came across one in an antique shop over the weekend and was shown the top completed auction. Theirs was priced at $350 so relative to that, a decent deal. But to my eye does not look any different than the $240 one. Will appreciate any & all conjecture.

BigFoot

I wanna be sedated!
Staff member
The case appears to be in better shape on the more expensive one. It may also have been the winner of that one was willing to go big, or two people were.

I don't know, but the first one is missing an end cap (eww) and I could be wrong, but the second razor isn't an Aristocrat. Judging by the knurling on the handle, it looks more like a Rhodium/Nickel plated Aristocrat than a President.

I'm no expert, but I was always left with the impression that Presidents are slightly more expensive compared to Aristocrats, since they are not as common and because rhodium plating is much better than gold plating, but shavewise they should be the same.

For much less you can buy pretty much any British Aristocrat in great condition with a box, which is a much better option imho.

Edit: Oh nevermind, it seems that there are Presidents with smooth bands on their handles too.

Last edited:

BigFoot

I wanna be sedated!
Staff member
I do believe the president came with a smooth band or the knurled band. It was almost like they sent whatever they had to be stamped and Rhodium plated. Of course I have no idea why they used both razors.

I'd walk in with two hundred dollar bills and tell him you're willing to leave them behind for the razor.
Just put them on the counter, done!

Now that I am more clued in on condition issues especially for the case I want to give it a good looking over.

Nor I. I saw it and it did not immediately click as to what it was. That's when they went to the auction. Put me on the back foot.