What's new

Gillette GSB, Astra SP, Persona Platinum.

How do people rate the above blades, I have been using Astra for a few years and get 14 shaves out of each blade but decided to try the GSB and Persona, upon trying GSB I was surprised how this to me was better than the Astra, smoother and sharper but on the 10th day got some weepers around my chin so tossed it and tried the persona and it did not feel has smooth as the GSB and seemed to tug a bit but maybe it is just a sharper blade, I know a lot has to do with technic, beard, blade and soap but have been reading and it seems the consensus is between 4-7 days that most guys change their blades. I have more work to do but was wondering what guys seem to prefer. I will toss my blades after one week and see what works best. Thanks for reading.

All three of those blades are at the top of my list. Of course YMMV. I get 10 shaves from the Personna lab blues and the Gillette SBs. I get at least 7 shaves from the Astra SPs. I get smooth and close shaves from all three. I’ll get a weeper or two with operator error.

I generally get 14 or 15 shaves from the GSBs and Personna Reds. It’s been long enough since I used the Astras that I’m not sure what I get out of them.

How do people rate the above blades, I have been using Astra for a few years and get 14 shaves out of each blade but decided to try the GSB and Persona, upon trying GSB I was surprised how this to me was better than the Astra, smoother and sharper but on the 10th day got some weepers around my chin so tossed it and tried the persona and it did not feel has smooth as the GSB and seemed to tug a bit but maybe it is just a sharper blade, I know a lot has to do with technic, beard, blade and soap but have been reading and it seems the consensus is between 4-7 days that most guys change their blades. I have more work to do but was wondering what guys seem to prefer. I will toss my blades after one week and see what works best. Thanks for reading.