What's new

Gillette foamy menthol

There is a search function on the forums to help you. You should try it; the link is at the top right of every page.
If im a rookie, would it be absolutely necessary to use brush and soap?
Not necessary to use a brush and soap; I have yet to see anyone suggest that. Some do use can foam and a DE razor.
Why cant i just use gillette foamy menthol?? Whats wrong with this?
Nothing wrong with the product if you like to use the same every day. There are a few alternatives in canned foam on supermarket shelves.
What is wrong with the method is they have to put the water, soap and propellant into the can to get the foam out. Ready foam costs more and generates lots of profit for the retailers and the manufacturer.
Many shoppers have been happy to pay for that convenience since the 50s' to complete that daily chore of shaving. The key word is chore and to many, shaving is a chore.
If you want a tailored experience with lather to your preference {skin sensitivity, glide, cushion, fragrance, etc.} that is a different matter.
The Wiki has a guide on that too; Lathers - https://www.badgerandblade.com/forum/wiki/Lather_Products

You can. I used Foamy for decades. I don't use it anymore because I find lathering soaps to be slicker and more protective to my skin. I enjoy my morning shave ritual.
QoxqqqgOnU7yU.gif

ajkel64

Check Out Chick
Staff member
Nothing wrong with using it at all. Try it and see. If it works for you then keep on using it.

I used gels and foams for 14 years with my DEs. I didn’t even think about brushes and soaps until two years ago. I do like the soap and brushes better then the canned stuff though.

Nothing wrong with it. Millions of people have done it that way for a long time. My face hates it though. I have had some success using a wet brush to apply canned cream. Adding a little water to it makes it a lot slicker. A good soap still works better for me but if I had to use canned stuff I'd still use a brush.