What's new

Gillette Fat Boys not doing it for ya?

I'll be the first to say that the Fat Boy is my favorite razor in my arsenal. I do hear a lot of bad reviews regarding this razor, and Gillette adjustable razors in general. If this applies to you, what is it about them that doesn't work for you? What other adjustable razors, vintage or modern, do you prefer instead?

I used mine for the first time yesterday night, with my favorite blade(GSB). I have been using a 40's SS for most of my near 5 months of wet shaving, and the Fat Boy is very different. The razor is heavier, and the extra weight is in the handle. The handle is thicker, and it balances differently. It was very cool to be able to dial it down after the first pass, and it's a nice razor in its own right. I can pick up one of my techs and it's the same feel as the SS, so I prefer those two razors. Since I'm still a noob at de shaving those are ideal razors for me anyhow.

I have a Black Beauty Adjustable and i have no issues with it. I don't know where the bad reviews about adjustables are. Seems to me that most are 50-50 when it comes to FB's...some people love and others not so much. I've read a few threads that give the impression that they are over-rated. Matter of fact, I think a lot of members here prefer the Black Beautys and Slims over the FB's. As they say, YMMV but I really don't think Adjustables are getting a bad rap here!

I have a Fatboy but I don't care for it. I also don't like the Slim or Super Adjustable razors. The shave is not as good as what I get from Gillette 3-piece razors. Not even close.

I see the introduction of adjustables as the beginning of Gillette's long slide into gimmickry. The problem is that they had perfected the razor with the New or the Tech. Once you had one of those, you didn't need any other razor for life. They're so good, in fact, that I'll be able to hand down my 1930s Tech to my son. And he'll be able to do the same.