What's new

Getting the best second cup of tea

Hi,

I've been drinking tea exclusively for a couple years now. And embarrassingly enough, I can never seem to make a good, (even OK second infusion). It always tastes thin and often bitter.

How do you masters of tea get that second good cup?

Bluewing

ouch

Stjynnkii membörd dummpsjterd
What are you brewing? Many whites and greens are only good for a single steeping, while most oblongs and puehrs do well for multiple infusions.

Do you mean brewing a second cup after brewing a first single cup; or making "pots' of tea?

I make a large pot for my family and I, then the second and third cups are just as good as the first. I use a thick cosy to keep the pot warm.

Hi,

Sorry about not being very clear.

I'm talking about making a second infusion from once steeped leaves. I primarily drink Darjeeling teas. I'm just testing out some Oolongs to start. Those who get multiple steeps from green teas have different tastes than me.

Bluewing

ouch

Stjynnkii membörd dummpsjterd
Darjeeling are blacks. I don't recall many blacks that don't give up all of their flavor in the first steeping.

Ad Astra

The Instigator
Darjeeling, the champagne of teas, has oolong tendencies ... but most black teas are only good for a couple cups. Then, no more than 5 minutes to avoid developing bitterness.

For a strong second cup- use more tea in the first brewing!

If you want to make cup after cup of great tea, try a puerh. They can provide an incredible number of infusions.

AA

I do 3gs of tea to 6-8 oz of water..On my first cup I do the time for tea.. Then, I add one minute for each cup after..But after 3 cups, they just like hot water to me..

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
I've been drinking tea exclusively for a couple years now. And embarrassingly enough, I can never seem to make a good, (even OK second infusion). It always tastes thin and often bitter.