What's new

Getting back to playing guitar

I’m no musician. I used to enjoy playing the acoustic now and then. I cannot read music and I learn by ear. I had been using a $99 no name black guitar, swapped out the strings with some Fender’s, bought a clip on kapo and some picks.

Fast forward, 8 years and after having 2 children, I had lost the urge to play as much as I had been. I recently dusted off my $99 special and started to get the itch... so much so that I went and upgraded to a new Epiphone Hummingbird Pro Acoustic / Electric as of today. Not the most expensive guitar, but for me- it’s a massive upgrade. Scooped up a few Dunlop Tortex medium picks and plugged it into my basic amp as soon as I got home. Sounds amazing. Now to try and teach myself all over again.

Guitar players... where do I go from here? Favourite apps? Advice? I may look into music lessons in the fall, but until then... I’m open to any pointers or stories you might have from playing. Here’s a pic of my new Hummingbird.

proxy.php

Nice!
I did something very similar, but instead of going back to the guitar I picked up the ukulele.
I found that YouTube was an excellent resource, including dexterity exercises, arpeggios, strumming, and various songs.
I bet the same can be said of the guitar.
Good luck and keep us posted on your progress.

Awesome! I play occasionally too. I used a couple apps on my iPhone.

First fender has a tuner app, perfect for keeping you in tune and it also shows you basic scales and chords.

Next app I use is called yousician. They have a free version that gives you mini lessons to help you progress.

Last one I use is an app called tabs. Basically has any song you can ever think of written down so you can play with either tabs or chords. I use it a lot and it’s awesome.

I haven’t been playing for long but I also get distracted by the kids so I don’t play as much as I’d like.