What's new

Getting back into the swing of things.trying to get back into shape

Well, after about a decade of having other priorities, I am trying to get myself back into shape. I have always been a bit husky, so my goal is not to be a model...rather, I just want to feel better. So I have started going to the gym and I have realized just how weak I have become.

I am currently 30 years old, 5'10", and 257 LBS. My wife recently lost 40 lbs so she is my inspiration; interestingly she did this with diet only.

My goals are a bit different. I would like to be 225 LBS but much stronger than I currently am.

My nutrition is much better than it has ever been (again, the wife's doing) and I am taking a GNC multivitamin, drinking plenty of water, and going to the gym three times a week. My workouts are mostly cardio intensive, but I started lifting weights last week (and was sore as hell the next day).

Any advice or encouragement you all can provide would be great. I am going to post weekly to provide updates on my status.

It's not always an easy fight, but it is one that you can win. Diet alone can make a huge difference.

I've always been the husky type, growing up on a dairy farm I was built like I grew up on a dairy farm. Then age and laziness and a love of food eventually took the toll, so by last year January I was about 254 on a 5'8" frame. I actually developed type II diabetes, and it escalated really fast. I went from showing pre-diabetic to hospitalized in a matter of like 2 months.

I knew I did not care to be reliant on giving myself insulin shots 4 times a day, or even once a day, and did not want to have to take maintenance prescriptions for the rest of my life either, so big diet changes were in store.