What's new

Geo F Trumpers, Colnel Conk or Taylor of Old Bond Street

OK so what does everyone think of these three brands?

I see them all the time when I go to shaving sites. I have experience with Taylor of Old Bond Street. I love them and would not hesitate to recommend them to anyone who is thinking about shaving creams or soaps.

But I have no experience with the other two. I am intrigued to hear others thoughts about these other brands of shaving creams and soaps.

Anyone?

Conk's soaps are glycerine based, super slickness but with a noticeably different feel. Trumper, Taylor's, T& F, and possibly D.R. Harris have inert pigments and/or clay in them. It's not in itself a drawback, but like any ingredient it does have an effect on water proportions and brush movements etc.

There's always some dialing in with an unfamiliar product, but these ingredients can make someone think they've bought crap when really they've simply bought old-fashioned.

Trumper leans heavily on powdery, just shy of flowery. Truefitt are very lightly scented by N. American expectations. Harris are more strong and are a touch harder and longer lasting.

If you're going to try all the Big Brits, can I suggest looking over scent descriptions and get a variety of scents, but only one from each?

Well then... It is time to contact gft for a sample pack of their shaving creams.

The fvorability of TOBS reaffirms my standing of how good they are.

What is T&F?