What's new

Genuine ACE Hard Rubber Comb

I used to use a comb as a kid then I switched to a plastic brush which I've been using for the last 20 years (since high school). So much time has passed that I forget why I switched to the brush. I've got a 'regular' kind of haircut, sometimes a buzz cut for the summer, so was a brush any better than a comb?

I remembered that I had an old comb in a box in the garage so I dug it out. It's a genuine Ace Hard Rubber 5" fine tooth pocket comb with all its teeth :thumbup: but some of the gold has come off its lettering. :thumbdown I like to research stuff so I looked up Ace. They still make combs but not in hard rubber. (Cost cutting perhaps?) There were a couple sites that had 'vintage' Ace combs but it's hard to tell if the were made of hard rubber. The new ones are now made in China. There's nothing else printed on my comb to identify what country it was made in. What I couldn't find was when Ace stopped making the hard rubber variety and switched to plastic. I'm guessing that I picked up this comb in the 80's but I don't remember if it was new when I got it or a hand me down.

The lowly comb can be overlooked sometimes but it's a standard piece of grooming kit that I'm adding back to my medicine cabinet.

Anyone else use an old Ace hard rubber comb?

My grown son and I sometimes drive SWMBO to distraction with an extended discussion of the virtues of the hard rubber pocket comb. The ones we like are hard rubber with the word

UNBREAKABLE

in italics on one side.

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
Ace is now made in China, and the material is very poor quality. They break and the teeth bend.

I have been using the Clipper-mate Pocket Comb, which is polypropylene (not as good as hard rubber, but better than brittle plastic) which are still (currently) made in USA.