What's new

Gentleman's Choice

I was in Southington, CT for a haircut today and happened to spot The Gentleman's Best across the street and couldn't help but take a peek inside. I have been wetshaving for a little over 2 years, but have spent the last year and a half or so using a fairly spartan setup of a merkur classic, c&e BBB, derbys and proraso. I just got an order in yesterday from bullgoose (whose service was excellent btw), but picked up a shave stick and some blades. Ray was incredibly helpful and didnt seem to mind that i wasnt dropping a hell of a lot of coin. I look forward to doing business with him in the future. There is definitely something to be said for a brick and mortar with an actual human being as opposed to shopping online. Its good to be back.

-Rik

Last edited:
Rik, you just met the famous "Thirdeye" moderator extraordinaire. He is a fine gentleman. :thumbup1:

Last edited:
You guys aren't just whistling Dixie either. I finally got over there yesterday afternoon to grab a few bottles of aftershave.

I was familiar with the website, but it was a pleasant surprise to see that he's holding out. There were a bunch more of...well everything than showed on his site. Tons of eye candy in his custom work and newer items not shown.

Besides the store, I have to give it up for a great guy. I got there at about 1600 and left at 1730, and the time flew by! He took the time to show me around, and just BS about shaving in general. I even got some sage honing advice with the assistance of his microscope and arsenal of hones.

I must apologize to some internet vendors in advance. I'll probably be buying a lot locally from Ray instead of online. This is exactly the type of place that I want to spend my shaving dollars.

All in all, I cannot possibly recommend this place enough. What a great experience! Anyone who's even remotely thinking of stopping in, or even buying from his site...stop thinking and DO IT!