What's new

Further deranged about shaving, is Desertlifter

Finally getting around to Italy: my shave log. The story so far is that after hating shaving for like....30 years...I started wet shaving with DE razors. Participating in this forum then got me interested in fountain pens (among other things), so trying a SR was likely inevitable. I purchased my first straight - a Wester Bros. - and a poor man's strop kit from Whipped Dog.

As as of today, I've been testing the waters and learning my straight for a couple of months. I don't use my straight every day, but I do shave every day with either my SR or a DE. My plan is to slowly taper my DE use with time.

Ive already covered my SR kit, so here is the DE and soap/extras:

DE Razors: S&S fat stubby and a Gillette gold ball end.

Soaps: Chiseled Face Summer Storm
Chiseled Face Midnight Stag
Blades Grim Smolder
Proraso Green and Red

Brushes: AOS Best Badger
Blades Grim Synthetic (LOVE this brush)

Latest shave today after spending a week hiking in the Redwoods National Forest. Lathered up with Summer Storm and my synthetic brush, then had at it

I've only cut myself once with my straight, that a vertical cut on my chin when I was shaving across the grain. That cut was shallow and about 1cm in length.

Today was was apparently time for another ding. The corner of my square point razor cut a fine line in front of my ear. No pain, barely bled.

So so I slowed down, relathered, and finished two passes (WTG and XTG) with no further drama.

My result - other than the small souvenir - was a DFS on most of my face and neck. I touched things up a bit with my S&S, applied and rinsed alum, and called it a night.

I consistently get a more even shave with my straight. I'm not getting BBS yet, but the trouble spots on my neck that annoy me like crazy are nice and clean with the SR.

BBS will come. Thanks for checking in.

Welcome to the semi-sanity of the journals board! You don't need a lobotomy, but many find it helps...