What's new

Frustrated

Im a newbie to wet shaving and have some experience honing. Many speak of great shaves using a straight razor. However, im not one of them. I can't seem to get a even half decent shave with one of my straight razors. Is it my razors suck or my hones are crap or both? Perhaps its my technique both on my stones and on my face? Maybe its all the above? I just don't know but its frustrating and im thinking maybe just go back to the shick quatro!

Also: what is bad about your shave? Tugging hairs? Irritation? Something else?

No reason to give up. Heck, almost every man used to shave this way. It's just a hurdle, and you'll have all the help you need here, to leap it.

Steve56

Ask me about shaving naked!
Im a newbie to wet shaving and have some experience honing. Many speak of great shaves using a straight razor. However, im not one of them. I can't seem to get a even half decent shave with one of my straight razors. Is it my razors suck or my hones are crap or both? Perhaps its my technique both on my stones and on my face? Maybe its all the above? I just don't know but its frustrating and im thinking maybe just go back to the shick quatro!

Honing what? Knives and tools won’t help you.

Get a razor edge from Alfredo, @Doc226 and then post your impressions.

Search youtube for some straight razor tutorials and pay attention to the skin-stretching techniques. That can help to get a nice close pass.

To get a perfectly smooth BBS (baby butt smooth) shave takes three passes. One with the grain (WTG), one across the grain (XTG) and one against the grain (ATG).

Most of the time I only do a single WTG pass with a straight and get a decent result. XTG isn't too much harder but don't even think about ATG while you're learning - especially if your edges are a bit blunt.