What's new

From Muhle R41 to Merkur 37 (Slant)

Hi All

I have been using my R41 as my daily razor for the last eight years, and have been very happy with it.

I have always been aware of the 37 Slant, and have been intrigued by the design. I recently found one at a good price and bought it. This was purely out of interest rather than any dissatisfaction with the R41.

I tested using same blade/soap as for R41. My first reaction was 'I have forgotten to put the blade in', it was so smooth. However, the blade was in, and evenly aligned, and I was being shaved. It gave a very good, smooth shave. After a couple of weeks of daily use, my impressions are that it gives a very smooth shave, but also very close. I would say, on a par with the R41. It is almost impossible to cut yourself with the 37 - a bit like a plastic razor. However, I don't care for the handle, I don't find it knurled enough, and can get slippy. Also, given the slant design, I find it a bit imprecise around the sideburns and nasal area.

I switched back to the R41, and the first thing I noticed was, how less smooth it was. You can definetely feel it across the skin. The handle (which was a replacement) has a very pronounced knurl, so no issues with slippling.

I have stayed with the R41, and will continue to do so (until the next experiment!). I do miss the smoothness of the 37, but overall the R41 suits me better.

Nice review. My 39c is one of my favorites (same as 37c with a longer handle) I will always have one in my rotation. I do not have anything that mows down a weeks growth with less effort. I am working on a way to turn it into a 3 piece so I can use a handle of choice.

The Razorock German 37 is almost the same as the older generation Merkur slants in shaving performance, but it is a three-piece design. You can use just about any handle you like. Inexpensive at around $12 for the head only, or $20 for head plus a stainless steel handle with about four different designs to choose from.

nemo