What's new

Fountain Pen Ink & Paper Combo for Longevity

I'm extremely new to fountain pens. I recently bought a Pilot Metropolitan and Pelikan 4001 Brilliant Green ink. That's it; that's all. However, I'm interested in getting another pen for home use (the Pilot is what I carry with me for work). I thought I'd get a decent-quality pad & ink combo that would allow for a semi-long lifespan (ie. decades, not centuries). I imagine I'd go with a black ink, unless there's some awesome blue ink that does something special that no black ink on the market can do. Also, I'd prefer a lined, top-stapled notepad, but I'm flexible in this area as the quality of the paper is more important. Initially, I thought I'd just go with Noodler's Black and a Rhodia No. 18, but I've heard Rhodia paper may not be great for fountain pens. Noodler's has a few other of their "bulletproof" inks (Heart of Darkness, X-Feather) that should work, too. I've also read good things about Tomoe River paper. Any suggestions for something that would meet my needs?

Thanks.

Last edited:
Rhodia, Crane, Strathmore and Clairefontaine are pretty durable papers. As far as ink longevity, those who need to retain important documents for posterity use registrars ink. I’ve used this ink. It’s a little dry but looks beautiful and it has pleasant shading. Also unlike some noodlers inks, the lines remain tight and don’t spread. Iron gall inks are water and fade resistant and have been used for important documents since the Middle Ages. The only thing about this type of ink you should know is flushing your pen out every month or two for routine maintenance.

Ecclesiastical Stationery Supplies Registrars Ink Blue-Black With Iron-Gall

Last edited: