What's new

Formulating my opinions

I've been wet shaving with DE's and straights for about 6 months now. I'm going to use this as my sort of log to keep track of what I like, what I don't, and what I'm looking forward to. Hope it isn't a bother to anyone, and as always, I encourage response!

I had always wanted to learn how to shave with a straight. Mostly because I'm cheap and wanted to stop paying for carts. I'm a head shaver, so that gets expensive. I started out with a Dovo straight. I couldn't get it right away, so I quickly got into DE as well.

I'm the sort of person who is never satisfied. I'm also an obsessive hobbyist. These things have led me to hunt for new shaving gear to try out. Ultimately, I just want to find what works well for me. I actually don't care to collect. I'd like to have a couple good DE's, a couple good straight razors, a decent boar brush, a decent badger brush and a couple soaps that perform well for me.

My reflections

Razors

Gillette Flair Tip - Felt awkward. Not comfortable
Gillette Slim adjustable - I like the length of the handle. I just couldn't find a good setting for me.
Gillette Milord - A bit light. But I like the way it feels. Wish the handle was longer.
Merkur 39c - I'm enjoying the size of the razor. The slant is a bit strange, but I'm going to give it some time before deciding if it is for me or not. So far, it has bit me a few times, but most likely that is my fault. I prefer the TTO. Aligning the blade with this razor is difficult.