What's new

Floid Black: It's pretty awesome!

My wife and I are 32, and she just doesn't care for the scent of most "legendary" aftershaves, such as Old Spice, Clubman, Speick, etc. She much prefers more "modern" fragrances. Well it just so happens that I was in the process of ordering some new splashes a few weeks ago, so I added a bottle of Floid Black to my shopping cart. The reviews I could find were mixed as far as scent goes, and probably leaned toward the "this smells horrible" side. But I took a gamble, and I'm glad I did.

I am not good at describing scents, so take this with a grain of salt and don't let my horrible description deter you from trying it. Like some have said, it has a fairly "sweet" and "fruity" scent in the bottle, but it mellows out as soon as I splash it on and develops into what I think is a wonderful fragrance. The fruity side of the scent brings to mind a candied fruit cocktail, if there is such a thing. Now I know you're probably thinking "who would want to smell like a candied fruit cocktail," but I told you I'm not good at describing scents; I promise it's not as bad as it sounds. On the other hand, there is something else that balances it out quite nicely, and I don't know how to describe it other than manliness. If you're into fragrances, I would say it's like Creed Aventus in that it has "fruity" or "sweet" notes to it, but it is overall a very classy, manly scent. I read a few comments that compared it to Axe or other modern "fresh" fragrances, but I cannot disagree more. It doesn't smell like any Axe that I've ever smelled. I would say it's a middle-of-the-road fragrance; it's modern enough that you won't smell like an old man, yet classy enough that you won't smell like horny teenager. It is not subtle, however, so it's definitely one of those "a dab will do ya" situations. And the scent lasts for a solid two to three hours on me. The best part though is that I finally found an aftershave scent that my wife and I both like.