What's new

First time stropping went well.... What am I doing wrong ?

OK, so I am new to SE Shaving. I just acquired a few straight razors along with a couple of Tony Miller Strops thanks to everyone here making me spend my money. No more money left. I hate all of you !!!

I performed my first SE shave last night which was less than stellar. You can read about it in the General Straight Razor Talk forum. After the shave, I dried off the razor and left it alone for the night due to the long experience of my first SR shave.

I now performed my first stropping of the razor I used last night on my Tony Miller Strop. From what I read from everyone here in the past was that you will butcher your first strop, so purchase the economical one, and then when you get your technique down, go for Tonys premium strop. Tony offers both, so I purchased it from him based on the wisdom of the shaving people here on B&B. The strop I used today was the economical one.

I first shaved on the linen 25 passes back and forth - North to South motion. Or is it south to north motion ? You get it. Must have taken me 5 minutes or so to complete. I then turned it over to the leather side. 50 passes back and forth. My arm started to get tired on the 20th pass. With a little break, I completed the whole 50 passes. It went well. No butchering of the leather. No cuts. No nicks. So now I ask all of you - what am I doing wrong ?

My first SR shave - although laborious and not the results I had wanted, I did not cut myself with the razor. And with todays first ever stropping - no nicks or cuts on the leather or linen. So as a new-be rookie to SR shaving - what am I doing wrong ? Isnt the right of passage to becoming an artisian SR shaver to have a few nicks and cuts along the way ???? On the face and on the strop ?

If you didn't cut up your strop or damage your edge, you aren't doing anything wrong. Welcome to using the Straight Razor!