What's new

First time soap making.hot process-shave soap

Well, I've use VDH deluxe pretty much exclusively for the past 4 years of wet shaving and haven't had any issues with even wanting to try something "higher" end until recently. I put an order in last week to Garry for some samples and am waiting on those to get here. Meanwhile I've been reading a lot about homemade soap and how difficult it is to get it right. I saw someone here post a recipe of shortening, coconut oil, and hemp oil with the shortening as the base and coconut/hemp at 5-10% each while using NaOH. I decided I'd change the hemp to castor oil, as I had read that castor oil is good for the creaminess, and see what I'd get. I have never made soap before however, as a physics/physical science teacher I am familiar with NaOH and chemical reactions so it didn't seem too difficult to follow the process. I'm the type of guy that just does stuff to see if I can...whether it's building guitars, a motorcycle, brewing beer, running marathons...and other stupid stuff...I just have a sick need for a challenge and that has cause me to have waaaaaay too many hobbies. I really hope this doesn't become another one.
Here's the process/ingredients I used this morning...with results and advice requested at the end.

I decided to go with an 8oz. batch just to have a small trial run with all local inexpensive ingredients.

I got my oils all measured out and melted in the crock pot, added my NaOH, and this is it 5 minutes in

10 minutes in...I really need a stick blender if this does become a hobby

15 minutes...at this point I'm beginning to wonder if anything is really gonna happen

20 minutes and it's just starting to show some thickness like gravy...had to snap the pic quick to show that though

25 minutes

30 minutes

35 minutes

40 minutes

45 minutes, it is VERY slow incremental increase but it is finally beginning to thicken close to trace. At this point it takes a few seconds for the swipe to close up